Print this page

Gordon Bell Award Winners

Bandwidth Challenge Winners

SC2002 offers a wide range of awards that recognize the innovative hard work of conference participants. Rules associated with each award, including honorarium amounts, are outlined below.

The Gordon Bell Awards were established to reward practical use of parallel processors and are given for the best performance in an application. This award is made in several categories relating to hardware and software advancement. All submissions for Gordon Bell Awards will be made through the SC2002 Technical Papers process and will be simultaneously considered for acceptance in the conference and for the Gordon Bell Awards. Rules associated with the Gordon Bell Awards will be available through this Web site. $5000 will be divided by decision of the Awards Committee among the winners.
Committee Chair: Thomas Sterling
Committee members: Bill Gropp, David Keyes, David Bailey and James Demmel

More information on the Gordon Bell Awards

SC2002 Gordon Bell Awards Finalists
The following papers are finalists for the Gordon Bell Award. They will all be presented at the conference (check your program for days and times). The award winner will be announced at the Awards Session on the afternoon of Thursday, Nov. 21.

  • NAMD: Biomolecular Simulation on Thousands of Processors
    James C. Phillips, Beckman Institute, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
    Gengbin Zheng, Sameer Kumar, Laxmikant V. Kale, Department of Computer Science and Beckman Institute, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

  • A 29.5 Tflops simulation of planetesimals in Uranus-Neptune region on GRAPE-6
    Junichiro Makino, Department of Astronomy, School of Science, University of Tokyo
    Eiichiro Kokubo, National Astronomical Observatory of Japan
    Toshiyuki Fukushige, Department of General System Studies, College of Arts and Sciences, University of Tokyo
    Hiroshi Daisaka, Department of Astronomy, School of Science, University of Tokyo

  • Salinas: A Scalable Software for High-Performance Structural and Solid Mechanics Simulation
    Manoj Bhardwaj, Kendall Pierson, Garth Reese, Tim Walsh, David Day, Ken Alvin, James Peery, Sandia National Laboratories
    Charbel Farhat, and Michel Lesoinne, Department of Aerospace Engineering Sciences and Center for Aerospace Structures, University of Colorado

  • A 26.58 Tflops Global Atmospheric Simulation with the Spectral Transform Method on the Earth Simulator
    Satoru Shingu, Yoshinori Tsuda,Wataru Ohfuchi, Kiyoshi Otsuka -Earth Simulator Center, Japan Marine Science and Technology Center
    Hiroshi Takahara, Takashi Hagiwara, Shin-ichi Habata - NEC Corporation
    Hiromitsu Fuchigami, Masayuki Yamada, Yuji Sasaki, Kazuo Kobayashi - NEC Informatec Systems
    Mitsuo Yokokawa - National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology
    Hiroyuki Itoh, National Space Development Agency of Japan

  • 16.4-Tflops Direct Numerical Simulation of Turbulence by a Fourier Spectral Method on the Earth Simulator
    Mitsuo Yokokawa - Earth Simulator Research and Development Center, Japan Atomic Energy Research Institute
    Ken'ichi Itakura, Atsuya Uno, Earth Simulator Center, Japan Marine Science and Technology Center
    Takashi Ishihara, Yukio Kaneda - Graduate School of Engineering , Nagoya University

  • 14.9 TFLOPS Three-dimensional Fluid Simulation for Fusion Science with HPF on the Earth Simulator
    Hitoshi Sakagami - Computer Engineering, Himeji Institute of Technology
    Hitoshi Murai - Earth Simulator Center, Japan Marine Science and Technology Center
    Yoshiki Seo - Internet Systems Research Laboratories, NEC Corporation
    Mitsuo Yokokawa - Japan Atomic Energy Research Institute

The High-performance Bandwidth Challenge was established in 2000 to encourage use of the SCinet infrastructure for exciting demonstrations during the SC Conference. Winner(s) will receive cash awards from Qwest.
High Performance Bandwidth Challenge Chairs: Greg Goddard, University of Florida,
Deadline for applications: July 12, 2002
For additional information see:

The Seymour Cray Computer Science and Engineering Award was established in 1997. A crystal memento, illuminated certificate, and $10,000 honorarium are awarded to recognize innovative contributions to high performance computing systems that best exemplify the creative spirit demonstrated by Seymour Cray.
Committee Chair: John Riganati
Deadline for submissions: July 31, 2002
For additional information see:

The Sidney Fernbach Memorial Award was established in 1992 in memory of Sidney Fernbach, one of the pioneers in the development and application of high performance computers for the solution of large computational problems. A certificate and $2,000 are awarded for outstanding contributions in the application of high performance computers using innovative approaches.
Committee: Chair: Jack Dongarra,
Committee members: Al Brenner, David Bailey, Charbel Farhat, Mike Norman
Deadline for submissions: July 31, 2002
For additional information see:
In addition, the SC2002 Conference Committee will select several outstanding award winners during the conference.

Special recognition will be given for:

•Best technical paper (includes a $1,000 honorarium)
•Best student technical paper (includes a $500 honorarium)
•Best research poster (includes a $250 honorarium)

Committee: members of the SC2002 Technical Program Committee
Deadline: papers selected from the conference submissions.

The HPC Challenge Awards will honor participants in three categories for innovative uses of high performance computing resources. This will provide opportunities for contestants to showcase important applications and platforms. The categories are as follows:

Most Innovative Data-Intensive Application: As processor power increases and sensor networks become ubiquitous, it is increasingly information and its location that is important. The award will be presented to the entry that is most innovative with respect to data mining, visualization, or combinations thereof. Examples of such projects would include multidisciplinary teams to mine, visualize, and interpret data.

Most Geographically Distributed Application: The Grid has made it possible to link computers around the world to solve computationally-intense problems, leveraging the strengths of different architectures in a simple application. The award will be presented to the team with the most geographically distributed application that solves a nontrivial problem.

Most Heterogeneous Set of Platforms: Similar to above, we pose a challenge to combine the most diverse set of architectures to solve a single, nontrivial application.

There are three award levels: Platinum ($1500 honorarium), Gold ($1000), and Silver ($500).

Contestants will demonstrate their entries in front of an audience on Wednesday. Judges will make decisions on Wednesday afternoon, and awards will be presented at the Awards Session on Thursday.

Entries should contain the names and contact information for all participants, an abstract describing the challenge, and any special requirements for high performance computing resources, data storage or demonstrating the technology.

For more information and a submission form, please see:

Deadline for submissions is September 1, 2002

HPC Co-chairs:
Radha Nandkumar,
Tara Madhyastha,

back to top